Instagram recently rolled out something called a “Trial Reel" which can be used by creator accounts or business accounts.
But what is it and how can you use it to grow your reach on Instagram?
When you post a reel (vertical video) as a “reel” and not just a post (shows in a different type of feed beyond just the posts), you can tell Instagram to share this content with people who specifically are not following you, so you will 100% reach new people, and potentially use this new audience to grow your following.
You can do this for content that is specifically not for your followers (such as a video where you’re saying hi and introducing yourself to new followers and inviting people to follow you), or to see how your content will perform by selecting this option for general content (but remember, it isn’t being shown to your followers, so just because it does well or doesn’t do well with who Instagram decided to show it to doesn’t mean your followers will respond the same way), or just for posting content that you want for-sure to go to more than just your followers.
After a trial reel has been posted, you have the option to archive it, leave it, or move it to your main grid where it will then be shown to your followers.
You don’t have to overthink this or be super complected about it. Using trial reels could be as simple as posting a reel as a trial and then later that day or the next day or just later moving it to your main grid.
Or you can create content specifically for people who don’t follow you with the intention of reaching those people, introducing yourself and your products or services, and potentially inviting them to follow you. These would be kept as trial reels and not moved to your main page where your followers can see the content.
In the Instagram app when you go to post the reel, you scroll down to where you tag people or add your location and below that there is a “Trial” option and you just toggle it “on.”
If you’re also posting to Facebook at the same time (as you can do that in Instagram), you will need to turn that auto-share to Facebook off if it is not a reel you want to go to your Facebook page. Otherwise it will just post directly as a reel to Facebook.
Happy connecting!

